Here's your chance to brag on the Father of Role-Playing Games. Tell us how he changed your life, his effect on math, learning and social skills. The more you post the louder our voice is in getting this great man the honor he deserves!

Testimonials are screened for spam and could take up to 24 hours to appear. Thanks for your submission!

Name *
Email
Website
Content *
Image Verification *
   
 

Bernardo ( This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. )

Gary, I'm eleven years old and I recently started playing RPGs. I bought D&D starter set and it changed my life! I love it and whwn I knew that you passed away I almost cried. Rest in Peace my dearest friend. YOU ARE MY DUNGEON MASTER! 

Friday, 25 January 2013

Chris ( This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. )
http://www.ldsknights.org

I first learned of AD&D through my brother, when I was just a pup.  I didn't actually play my first game until high school but I've been hooked ever since.  I graduated 20 years ago and every single one of my close friends are people I met through playing AD&D.  That includes my wife and, by extension, my children.  Sometimes it scares me a little how profoundly different my life would be had I not agreed to start throwing some dice around back in high school.  It would have been not only different, but much less initeresting and fun.

In that sense, Gary has affected my life more than anyone else, and for that I will be forever grateful.

Wednesday, 23 January 2013

Lilou ( This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. )
http://www.wii-u-france.fr

I never played D&D but i will. Thank you for all these informations !

Monday, 17 December 2012

Jaimie McEvoy ( This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. )
http://www.facebook.com/groups/10668686166/permali

Set your multi-sided dice beside a lighted candle tonight. Sad news for many of us who had the opportunity to revel in imagination and fantasy thanks to a wonderful man. Please take the time to forward to anyone you wish or think appropriate.

Thank you, because whether or not we were popular, we damn sure were interesting!

Thank you, Gary Gygax, to you.  Thank you for my love of history, of story-telling, of languages, of magic. Thank you for all the "practice" that's allowed me to react quickly to real life emergencies. Thank you for the safe and fun way to be a kid, for play that used my brain. Thank you for the monsters, the magic spells, for the opportunity to find in myself the noble Paladin, the charming rogue, the mighty sorcerer, and the kindly wise wizard within.

Thank you, from us few humble millions who will miss you.

 

Jaimie McEvoy

New Westminster, British Columbia

Friday, 14 December 2012

Tim Avers

I had only the one opportunity in many years as a player to meet Gary - while attending GenCon UK in 2000. Not knowing the man but having been profoundly influenced by his sensibilities as a designer, I was unsure what to expect. After his lecture several of us followed the man across the campus quad rather entranced by his rejoinder. After several minutes I broke with the group politely and, as though he was an old friend, Gary said "You have to go?" There was an almost irreconcilable depth to those four simple words that revealed a reservoir of compassion and humanity. My love for people developed in part because of roleplaying. And now I volunteer to help kids who may never otherwise feel the connection that Gary so effortlessly conveyed.

Sunday, 02 December 2012

Zack

Thank you so much for being one of the people to bring the joy and wonder of roleplaying games to the world. Without Dungeons & Dragons, I might not have ever discovered the amazement of gaming. May you be forever immortalised, Mr. Gygax.

Monday, 19 November 2012

Aaron Grogan ( This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. )

I am an abuse survivor. When I was 11, my family moved to a new area, and I had no friends, and didnt know how to make them. The kid across the street had some friends over one day, and they introduced me to DnD. From then until I left for college, we had a seven year friendship and campaign. Now, I am showing a computer generation the joys of PnP gaming - tonight for the first time, they will know what its like to order pizza and roll characters with dice, rather than a mouse click. THANK YOU Gary - for the friendships you helped me build, the game I love, and for helping me to mentally escape a horrible childhood without drugs or alcohol.

Sunday, 11 November 2012

Michael Tresca ( This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. )
http://michael.tresca.net

From my book, The Evolution of Fantasy Role-Playing Games: "From my own personal experience, playing role-playing games was an important part of my professional development. Speaking confidently to a group seated around a table, agreeing on a course of action, and getting team members to work together using a set of complex rules, are all attributes I use at work. Before I ever entered the business world, I had unknowingly led hundreds of business meetings. All that was missing was some dice."

"To the families of the wizards who made fantasy gaming what it is today -- J.R.R. Tolkien, Gary Gygax, and Dave Arneson -- thank you for the gift that keeps on giving."

Saturday, 28 July 2012

John "rudeboy" Allen ( This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. )

I didn't play my first real game of D&D until I was about 22.  Ever since then it's a bi-weekly experience.  D&D has been a cornerstone in my life from that day on.  I've made friends that will last me the rest of my life.  There are memories that will always warm my heart for the rest of my years, thanks to this game.  I've grown as a writer, a player, and an admirer of the collected mythos.  None of the happiness I now share would have been possible if not for Mr. Gygax.  Thanks a million, Sir. 

Saturday, 28 July 2012

John Z ( This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. )
http://www.johnzk.com

I have been working hard getting things out there for the Gygax Memorial Fund's commemoration of Gary Gygax's birthday today (27 July 2012) - but, I wanted to take a moment and let you know that, IMHO, Mr. Gygax is very much amongst those rare individuals that have done so much for so many people that they become larger than life itself.

Personally, Gary's work allowed me to feel okay (and eventually confident) about having an imagination. His games and writings helped me endure the beatings by others less tolerant of people that were not part of the larger group.

Beyond freeing my imagination, role-playing games also served as an incentive to learn on my own and I have forever become an autodidact - pushing myself further every day.

So it is that I say to Gary, wherever you are, I will forever honor the rolls you have made possible!

Game on and Cheers!

Friday, 27 July 2012

D. DiGregorio ( This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. )

Growing up in Alaska in the late 70's was no picnic. A few of us found each other through D&D. We would play in the basement of the tiny local library. There I learned the value of manners, cooperation, and friendship that would shape a large part of the person I was to become. I also learned a lot about history, mythology, strategy, math, and vocabulary. Most importantly, it fed my imagination so it could grow strong and healthy--it gave me a rich inner life that has given me comfrot, and entertainment in the loneliest of times, but it also fed my character (no, not my halfling rogue) so that I would be welcome in social situations and not be so lonely.

Friday, 27 July 2012

Tawmis ( This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. )
http://www.neverendingnights.com

Gary Gygax, without knowing it, helped expand my imagination by allowing me to become both a player and a story teller. He helped me create worlds, and fill them with cities, people, monsters, governments, problems, and quests. He helped me think on my feet as my players that I would DM, did something unusual. He was the fuel to my imagination and my creativity that helped me continue to grow and improve as a story teller.

Friday, 27 July 2012

Drew Davenport ( This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. )

I got to play a game with him a few years before he died.  My friend went to high school with his grand kid, and she invited me over to play because she knew I liked D&D.  I got to make a Castles and Crusades character and play a game with him and his buddies, which were some of the coolest people I've ever met.  They inspired me to really get into my character and role play him.  He also gave me a bunch of ideas which I use in all my D&D campaigns today!  I like to think I'm keeping his spirit alive in my games by using what he taught me.

Friday, 27 July 2012

Jimmy Amato ( This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. )
http://www.facebook.com/taricus

Gary opened the door to a world of collaborative storytelling to me.  Not only did D&D and its derivatives bring many great nights with friends around gaming tables and act as an icebreaker to get shy friends to become more open and confident, but it had the very lasting effect of improving my creativity and writing as I read the wonderfully detailed manuals and wrote out my own adventures.  Each book, even the core rule book, was like an open ended story full of possible twists and turns that grabbed your imagination and inspired you.

Gary Gygax had the creativity to create realistic worlds for us to imagine and helped to allow us to express the ones that lived in our hearts, too.  He is a truly great man that will be sadly missed, but happily remembered.

Thank you, Gary Gygax.  Keep on rollin' those d20's in the sky!  ^_^

Friday, 27 July 2012

Dr. Vance Henize

I learned more from D&D about history, language, mythology, story telling, and useful interpersonal negotiaion than probably all of grade school combined. I suspect many of my IQ points are directly gleened from Gary Gygax - thank you, sir!

Monday, 23 July 2012

Roy Outhwaite ( This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. )

Started playing in 78 when I doscovered the 4 little A5 books. Never ever stopped. Played at least 3 times a week since 78 to now (2012), that 34 years of great times. It has always been the main focus of life for me and has helped me in so many ways. Met great friends and diverse people. So, it went from those small books to DnD, ADnD, 2nd edition, 3rd then 3,5. Sad to say, 4th edition lost that fine Gygax touch and it wasnt for me, so I ventured to Pathfinder. Gygax is my hero, I'm hoping when I shuffle off this mortal coil, he may have a space at his celestial table for me :D.

remembered fondly.

 

Monday, 23 July 2012

Paul Gibson

If I had not started playing D&D I wouldn't have the good friends I have now, and I would not have the courage I have now which helps me get through each day with a good attitude. I began playing D&D a few days after Gary died, and I didn't even know it. I was instantly immersed in the game and knew this was going to be what I spent my free time on for the rest of my life. Whenever someone makes a derogatory comment about me playing D&D, I say:

"Unless you've played it don't say anything about it until you have, because after you do, you won't want to say anything bad about it."

Thursday, 22 March 2012

Matthew Hedges

Gary,

You created a game that fired my imagination, and improved my maths, hand writing and spelling and knowledge of history. It gave me respite from reality when it was needed, but also brought me closer to my friends. In an age where knowledge is becoming easier to access, imagination will become King. You taught a generatrion how to use their imagination. What a legacy to give to the world. Rest well. Know that thy life made the world a better place.

Friday, 09 March 2012

Clive ( This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. )

To the Honorable Mr. Gary Gygax,

 

I just wanted to say that by your efforts you have given me, and my friends here in the Philippines a great gift, a way to express our dreams and fantasies. Which wouldn't have been possible otherwise.  I believe it has been said..But let me say it again..You and your gifts to the world and its people will never be forgotten, for some may be revered and worshipped because they gave their lives, money, hopes and dreams..But you have added another reason and that is you gave us is the imagination to pursue those things..to be something beyond ourselves, to aspire, and become who we wanted to be.  Inspiration, Mr. Gygax. will there be any gift greater.

And in the end we will leave,

But the footprints stay,

Like the the trees at winter,

Forever there, waiting, dreaming.

 

Like you Mr. Gygax, You may have passed but like the trees at winter come summer YOU would someday return.

May you return someday with new DREAMS

 

Thanks,

Clive

Sunday, 22 January 2012

marv ( This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. )

I was 13 when my friend, Tim, ran a small adventure he wrote using the blue box rules with me as the only player. My elf (there was no distinction between race and class) died in the last room. I was so struck by how immersed I was and had a blast. I immediately asked him how he had done that and he showed me his hand written one page map with one page room key. Instantly upon seeing them, I knew I would be DMing the rest of my life. And I have. Once or twice a year I force myself to play (not DM) and usually enjoy it. However nothing gets my juices going like creating worlds and DMing.

A few years ago I reconnected with Tim and he still had that adventure. He scanned it and emailed it to me. It's amazing how little it took back then to impress. I ran it as a solo adventure for my son using blue box rules and it was a huge hit again after all those years! I have a huge book shelf full of every book of DnD (except 4th!) and Pathfinder and none of them can match the magic of that blue box booklet and a simple hand written dungeon.

Thank you Gary! Your labor of love will live on.

Saturday, 21 January 2012

Blake Rosenbrook

Gary Gygax a man beyond words.  You will be missed but never forgotten.  Thank you Gary you changed my life.

Saturday, 21 January 2012

Anthony Rastelli ( This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. )

To gary,

A man whom I owe my great imagination, a man who helped me be a part of something bigger than myself.

I thank you from the bottom of my heart for every book i've collected to every game i've ever played.

Friday, 20 January 2012

Bobby Navarro ( This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. )
http://underabloodredsky-future.blogspot.com/

I never had the privilege of meeting Gary Gygax but he changed my life for the better. When I first got to know about D&D, I was a geeky 13-year old kid who talked too much and didn't know what to do in life. The skills and attitude I picked up since then brought me through the university, through law school and beyond. Now I have a family and kids who I look forward to sharing D&D (and role playing games in general) with.

Thank you so much Gary.

Friday, 20 January 2012

Skavenloft ( This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. )

Hail now, hail to the king...

I'm sad when I'm writtig this because I know that whatever I'll wrote, it wont be enought:(

Thank you Gary, because you find a way to show us, funny guys with a colourfull dreams, that we are not alone. That there is a lot of us.

And the bard song will remain.

Thursday, 19 January 2012

Andy Gowen

Like many countless other gamers, I can say that Gary had a profound and positive effect on my life.  Through D&D, I have met new friends, learned different ways of meeting challenges and developed a more acute sense of what is right.  I have spent, probably, thousands of hours in the last twenty years enjoying his work and his imagination.  In the process, I have expanded my own imagination.  From that first boxed set of basic D&D that a friend brought back to the UK from America, all the way to our self-made dungeons; Gary has played a part in the enjoyment of my leisure, the closeness of my comrades and more laughter than you can shake an Orc at.

 

He will be fondly remembered every time we get the dice out and go hunting dragons.

 

He helped make heroes of us all.

Friday, 16 December 2011

Simon Todd ( This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. )

Oooh, Gary has given me so much in my life, throughout my life. He never met me, I never met him, but there are very few people on earth who can have reached so far into the hearts of others and revealed so much creativity.

I am very jealous of Stefan for the commission to do the sculpture. As a sculptor myself, I would have loved to have had the chance to put something back. But then again this has given me the impetus to maybe do my own piece anyway....hmmm

 

something from England to show how much he changed us all for the better

Thursday, 15 December 2011

John Young

Something caused me to look for Gary on the internet today, and I found my way here. AD&D was such an important part of my formative years and my youth. I love the game still.

What a beautiful gift he gave us, to drive our imaginations and give us a place to go.

Monday, 28 November 2011

Ian Liddle ( This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. )
http://www.rpgnow.com/index.php?filters=0_0_0_0&ma

I was in Secondary school (not sure the American equivalent) and would be about 13. I'd picked up an interesting looking magazine from the newsagents the day before called White Dwarf ... id never seen the like before, i gazed in wonder at words like THACO and hit points without any knowledge of what they were.

 

A friend of mine Graham Shields asked me if i knew what it was all about. I said no and he told me. I had my first game od AD&D that weekend .... hooked ... instantly and permanently.

 

His work improved my command of the English language (though I was often told off for using American spelling in English lessons), kept my maths skills up to scratch and encouraged me to look beyond, to research .. first to improve my game world and then just for the pleasure of knowing.

 

Gary's work inspired me and many hundreds of wonderful adventures have been had with the worlds he allowed us to create. Roleplaying games have been the one constant in my life through tweo marriages and onto my third (and last), through many house moves, good times, bad times, my working life and beyond.

 

Through Gary Gygax I have been inspired enough to create my own works of fantasy. I set up my own games company, and work to keep roleplaying games alive, in my own small way.

 

Sadly I never met Gary Gygax. Maybe when I pass beyond the veil I can sit at his table and enjoy tales of adventure crafted by the master of gaming.

 

R.I.P. Gary, you gave us so much.

Thursday, 25 August 2011

David Miller ( This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. )

It was 1979 and i had just turned 11, i will never forget that day. I saw the basic set for sale and used my allowance to purchase it. From that date forward D&D had me hooked. I tried AD&D, and while it was ok, i went back to my box sets. Later, 2nd edition came out and once again i went back to the box sets. Recently, 3rd and 4th have been released, 3rd and 3.5 was good and i still sometimes play it, 4th is Dungeons the gathering and i won't touch it, so back to my box sets. In the end garys imagination has lasted over 30 years of my life and it's still going strong. I played so much when i began DM'ing i quit using modules and just made a map with notes and ran with it. hmm i think i need to get my box sets out again, Thank gary!

Wednesday, 17 August 2011

Dave Dickins ( This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. )

I first bought the basic D&D set a few months before my 15th birthday, back in 83. I remember running a game for 5 friends and being pleasently surprised when they all rushed out and bought their own copies. From there the floodgates just opened. We quickly progressed onto Expert D&D and then AD&D.

Since that day, I have played for 1000s of hours with many different people, made many friends along the way (including my future wife) and now run a campaign that includes my son. I can't actually quantify the impact that roleplaying has had on my life, other than to say that without it, I would not be the person that I am today.

I never actually physically met Gary, but he was there for me in every tavern and adventure in every campaign and he met me a 1000 times over, every time a fan awkwardly introduced themselves to him and stuttered their thanksLaughing.

I was saddened to hear of his passing, men like Gary are few and far between, the world is a poorer place for their leaving. That being said, Gary inspired a legion of fellow adventurers and we will carry his torch proudly forward to inspire new generations to join us on our never ending quest.

R.I.P. Gary and thanks for all that you have done.

Saturday, 13 August 2011

Jason Picheo ( This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. )

Although I got a D in 7th grade English I did have over 100 graph paper dungeons completed for the Summer game season. That was 1983 and I still enjoy designing crawls for my group. Thanks G.G. for keeping my grey matter bubbling all these years.

Friday, 12 August 2011

Ezra Claverie ( This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. )
http://robopithecusantecessor.blogspot.com/

<!-- /* Font Definitions */ @font-face {font-family:"MS 明朝"; mso-font-charset:78; mso-generic-font-family:auto; mso-font-pitch:variable; mso-font-signature:1 134676480 16 0 131072 0;} @font-face {font-family:"MS 明朝"; mso-font-charset:78; mso-generic-font-family:auto; mso-font-pitch:variable; mso-font-signature:1 134676480 16 0 131072 0;} /* Style Definitions */ p.MsoNormal, li.MsoNormal, div.MsoNormal {mso-style-unhide:no; mso-style-qformat:yes; mso-style-parent:""; margin:0in; margin-bottom:.0001pt; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:12.0pt; font-family:"Times New Roman"; mso-fareast-font-family:"MS 明朝"; mso-fareast-theme-font:minor-fareast;} .MsoChpDefault {mso-style-type:export-only; mso-default-props:yes; mso-fareast-font-family:"MS 明朝"; mso-fareast-theme-font:minor-fareast;} @page WordSection1 {size:8.5in 11.0in; margin:1.0in 1.25in 1.0in 1.25in; mso-header-margin:.5in; mso-footer-margin:.5in; mso-paper-source:0;} div.WordSection1 {page:WordSection1;} -->

I found Gary Gygax's Advanced Dungeons and Dragons Monster Manual in a bookstore when I was nine years old, and it enthralled me. I understood that D&D was a complicated game that I didn’t know how to play, but that didn't matter: I had to have that book. I had always loved monsters--reading about them, watching movies about them, drawing them--and it seemed I had finally found a book written by someone who loved them as much as I did.

Gary didn't invent D&D by himself or in a vacuum, but nobody did more to make me want to play it, and games like it. Much of the appeal of his books was his writing: he could explain difficult concepts without talking down to the twelve-year-old ambitious enough to open the AD&D manuals. He trusted his audience, but he also challenged them. Gary used big nouns (phylactery, miscibility) and big adjectives (vacuous, slatternl

Thursday, 11 August 2011

pingstanton
http://chimaboo.com/dnd

Thanks Gary for everything -- e.g. D&D et. al.

Wednesday, 27 July 2011

David Pearson ( This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. )
http://nwscouting.blogspot.com/

I remember meeting Gary when I was in middle school in Los Angeles, California.  His younger son and I were friends in school and Luke would occasionally have a bunch of us over for a day.  When Gary was home he would occasionally sit down with us and talk - whether about D&D or what ever struck his fancy.  He was a friendly, gracious fellow to our crowd of rowdies, and I have long appreciated the thought of having a small tie to the Patriarch of D&D. 

Thanks Gary.  You made an impression on me.

Wednesday, 20 July 2011

Wes Martin ( This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. )

There are pioneers in our world that find front place at all the "who is important" dinners and functions.

Bill Gates

Steve Jobs

Gene Rodenberry (RIP)

Steven Hawking

 

However it is the quiet ones like Gary and those who worked around him in the early days of TSR that need a mention. You created a world which 1000s of us live in and more and more are invited into each day.

 

You gave us the Beholder, the Owlbear, Tiamat and many others.

The world we live in is better for you being in it, a lot better.

 

RIP

Tuesday, 12 July 2011

Kay

I not only want to comment the man on fact that his works opened my eyes towards the limitlessness of my own imagination, but also recognize the influence he has had on our society at large.

With the advent of online games as world of warcraft he also through d&d and roleplaying, made the world smaller and connected people from all over the world come together. To qoute Mark Rein Hagen "Soon everybody will be roleplaying gamers"

Thanks Gary

Tuesday, 28 June 2011

Erik Richardson ( This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. )

With a background including marketing analysis, college teaching, corporate finance and now math teaching, it is amazing still to think back on how D & D changed the way I thought about everything from statistics to geometry.  I hope the monument has multi-sided dice that spin in the wind, because the way he brought math into our imaginations was perhaps the most remarkable thing of all!

Sunday, 26 June 2011

Mark Zeller ( This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. )

I am grateful that D&D was available in the early 80's during my childhood. I played with neighborhood friends and passed many summer days with the help of rulebooks and imagination. Without Mr. Gygax, I would have been one bored and lonely kid. Sometime, much later in life, I re-introduced myself to the game and although the game traded hands/companies, still reminded me of summers gone by. Thank you Gary Gygax

Sunday, 26 June 2011

Bob Nolan ( This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. )
http://penandlead.wordpress.com/

All I can say is that without the things Gary did, I would never have come to love the friends and neighbors I've made through his contributed work in the field of hobby gaming.

 

Here's to you, Gary.

Friday, 24 June 2011

Mike Shannon ( This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. )

I am a Civil Designer with an Engineering Firm and I would like to offer my services as a CADD Designer with experience in creating the engineering drawings that the city may request for this.  I know from reading the article you posted from the City that they require a detailed map of the location.  I am willing to donate my time in providing that assuming someone there can get me pictures and measurements.

On a personal note, its funny how the actions of one man can affect so man.  Without D&D I dont know that I would have learned how much I enjoy making maps and drawings for others, something that prompted me to become a drafter, and eventually work for an engineering firm designing subdivisions and malls and military bases.  Without D&D I probably would not have met my Fiancee, who I met through online gaming.  Without D&D I would not have met many of the friends I have now, and being an army brat, having friendships that have lasted a decade is a strange and wonderful thing.  Having just transfered to a new city, it was through D&D that my Fiancee and I met new friends down here, and a new group that really does feel like home.  Without Gary, I wouldnt have had D&D.  Some would argue that most of that would have happend without him, and who knows, they might be right.  But it didnt have to happen without him, and I wouldnt trade a bit of it for the chance at something else.  No, I dont attribute all my personal success and happiness to a man I never met, and never met me... But I do think that in some small way, he helped.  And the very least I could do is say thanks, and offer to help him a bit as well.

Thursday, 23 June 2011

Bill Travis ( This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. )
http://www.billtravis.com

I'd like to offer my 3d services for rendering your monument design. I can incorporate it with location photos too. I'm sure it would hepl with your fundraising efforts.

Wednesday, 22 June 2011

Josh

Living just south of Lake Geneva I had the good fortune of running into Mr. Gygax a few times in town. I would spend a few minutes chatting, not wanting to take up too much of his time, and even though I'm sure I was interrupting what he was doing he was so gracious with his time and would spend the few minutes to entertain a fan. One of the nicest and most humble men I had ever met.

Monday, 20 June 2011

Jaime Frontero ( This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. )

i  met mr. gygax once, at a tolkien thing in new york.  wonderful man - a man who changed all of our lives.

please start accepting Bitcoin (www.bitcoin.org) with your other methods.  i will donate.  i kind of think he would have approved, and been fascinated by it.

jaime

Monday, 20 June 2011

David Tannen ( This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. )
http://www.jcdisciples.org

I learned how to play RPG, specifically D&D in college back in 1979.  Later we all learned how to play AD&D.  I developed some very deep friendships with the people I played with over the years through role playing games.  Because of RPG I learned that many people working together could overcome any obstacle.  The 'group mind' was always more powerful that any single 'genius'.

I credit my current successful career as a project manager/Scrum Master with my many hours being a Dungeon Master and gamer.

Thank you Mr. Gygax

Monday, 20 June 2011

Keneke ( This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. )
http://brodycatsmouth.livejournal.com

Starting with the D&D red box, roleplaying was the vehicle through which I developed. Math was made fun, statistics was made approachable, and my imagination was fired. 

The greatest friends I have and had are roleplayers. The greatest people, period, I believe are roleplayers. Gary Gygax solidified a method of game playing which changed the world.

Monday, 20 June 2011

Sam ( This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. )

I owe most of my positive childhood and teenage memories to this man and his creativity.  D&D, Top Secret, Gamma World and Boot Hill were my escape from a tumultous household with parents who were involved in constant verbal abuse toward each other and their children.  It gave me an opportunity to be whatever my imagination could invent.

Gary Gygax is one of the unsung heroes of the world.  I am sure my story is not unique and that he and his inventions touched numerous lives in similar ways.

Monday, 20 June 2011

Johnny Carver ( This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. )

My 3rd grade teacher taught me how to play D&D. Im 37 now and I play with my kid. I thank Mr. Gygax for that.

Monday, 20 June 2011

Mica J. Fetz ( This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. )

Dungeons and Dragons.  Gary Gygax.  When I was starting middle school, I had recently moved to a big city from a quiet suburb.  Added to the awkwardness of age, was my being "the new kid."  I endured a year of torture, teasing and general hell.  Then, one afternoon, near the end of the school day, a classmate told me to meet him in the school library at 2:15.  I thought, "How strange.  They're going to beat me up in the library this time."  Resigned to my fate, I went. 

Everything took a strange turn when seated at one of the large tables someone handed me a 6-sider and told me to start rolling.  My first character was a cleric.  I've played dozens of characters since then.  I've run hundreds of hours as DM.  I love reading and history, sci-fi and fantasy and I owe it all to E. Gary Gygax.  He taught me to look outside the box for solutions, the value of teamwork, the joys of a grand tale and even the fun of teaching.  I've taught scores of people to play D&D and other RPG's over the years.  I am a gamer like my forefathers, my children are gamers like their father.  Thank you Gary.

Sunday, 12 June 2011

Wes ( This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. )

Man, this is tough... Gary Gigax was an amazing person. I never met him, never
spoke to him, but I understood him on a level that I share with too few people...
Summer of 1997, me and my buddy got a hold of his older brothers AD&D
2nd Edition Starter Box (ya know, the one with the audio CD that narrated the
adventure! With the ambient sounds and the cool, Shakespearean narrator,
YEAH!)... That memory is indelible. Gary Gigax, all the people involved over
the years and the whole concept of D&D as an escape, a meditation, a secret
identity or what have you, have and still do help me and my fellow gamers find
joy in life. To the family of Gary Gigax I, and the world, morn the loss of a man
who was no doubt as great a Husband, Father, Brother or Uncle as he was a
pioneer, adventurer and poet.

Tuesday, 07 June 2011

Archie ( This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. )

I never met Gary though I talked to him online a few times, yet he changed my
life profoundly. I was an eight year old kid when my best friend's older brother
let us sit in on a D&D game. The door to my imagination was opened. Hours of
enjoyment with my friends creating worlds,acting and having fun were the result.
Gary's creation got me into reading, it caused me to meet people who would be
my closest friends through life and it gave me so many good memories. Thank
you Gary and God Bless.

Tuesday, 07 June 2011

 

Powered by Phoca Guestbook
I like very much this iPage Hosting Review because this is based on customer experience. If you need reliable web hosting service check out top list.